Associate Professor Neal Benedict and co-authors have been awarded the 2018 Rufus A. Lyman Award by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. This award is presented annually to the author(s) of the best paper published in the  American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education. The manuscripts are judged by  utility and significance to pharmacy education, originality, research methodology and writing style.

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) will honor Neal Benedict, PharmD, Pamela Smithburger, PharmD, Amy Calabrese Donihi, PharmD, Philip Empey, PharmD, PhD, Lawrence Kobulinsky, Amy Seybert, PharmD, Thomas Waters, Scott Drab, PharmD, John Lutz, BS, Deborah Farkas, PhD, and Susan Meyer, PhD, from the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy and the WISER Education and Simulation Facility, with a monetary prize and certificate on July 24, 2018 during the Tuesday General Session at Pharmacy Education 2018, the AACP Annual Meeting, in Boston.

The paper, “Blended Simulation Progress Testing for Assessment of Practice Readiness,” outlines the development of a five-station, blended simulation assessment that was developed to evaluate patient care outcomes in first- and third-year pharmacy (P1 and P3) students, as well as first-year postgraduate (PGY1) pharmacy residents. This assessment of practice readiness included knowledge and performance evaluations administered as a progress test. To learn more about the outcome, visit the AJPE website. 

“Dr. Benedict and colleagues have provided excellent evidence in how to help our students advance in their knowledge and practice readiness using a blended simulation testing approach,” said AJPE Editor-in-Chief Gayle Brazeau, Ph.D., professor at the University of New England College of Pharmacy. “In addition, this research advances pharmacy education in how this testing approach can inform curricular advancement to align curricular content, process and outcomes with accreditation standards.”

Photo above: front row: Scott Drab, Neal Benedict, Pamela Smithburger, and Susan Meyer. Back row: Amy Seybert, Thomas Waters, John Lutz, Lawrence Kobulinsky, Amy Calabrese Donihi, and Deborah Farkas. Missing from photo: Philip Empey.



Leave a comment