The Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association (PPA) recently honored Stanton Jonas PharmBS ’51, MPH with the Mortar and Pestle Award during PPA’s 2014 Annual Conference held at the Four Points by Sheraton on September 20, 2014 in Mars, PA.

The Mortar and Pestle Award is one of special recognition presented solely at the discretion of the PPA Board of Directors which recognizes service to the pharmacy profession.

Jonas has had an illustrious pharmacy career following his graduation from the University of Pittsburgh where he was a Rho Chi member. He joined the Air Force and served as a chief pharmacist. After being honorably discharged he joined Thrift Drug and then managed Penn-Wood Pharmacy and the Carlton Pharmacy. Selected by the Allegheny County Health Department in 1965 to start their pharmacy, he obtained a Pennsylvania pharmacy license and initiated mailing penicillin to their Rheumatic Fever Registry patients and pre-packaging Tuberculosis Clinic medications.

In 1967, he was the Pharmacist Coordinator for the 60 site countywide mass Measles program. He again held that position in 1970 for the 130 site mass Rubella program. It was the largest single day, immunization by injection, program in the United States. During his years with the Allegheny Health Department, Jonas accomplished much and was always a champion of the community pharmacist and the role they play in healthcare.

He served as President of the Allegheny County Pharmacists Association (ACPA) in 1983, and remains on their Board of Directors today. As the long-time Chair, since 1972, of their Poison Prevention Committee, he initiated Poison Prevention month, sending literature kits to pharmacies throughout Allegheny County, continuing his involvement to this day.

In 2005, Dean Patricia Kroboth appointed Jonas as Curator of the Elmer H. Grimm, Sr. Pharmacy Museum at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. As one of Pitt’s outstanding graduates, a true believer in the community pharmacists and a passionate advocate for pharmacists’ role in healthcare, this award is certainly richly deserved.

Dean Patricia Kroboth, Ruth Jonas (wife), Stanton Jonas, Assistant Professor Karen Pater.


Leave a comment