Description Flip the Pharmacy Award

Flip the Pharmacy is a nationwide, community pharmacy practice transformation effort, sponsored by the Community Pharmacy Foundation and led by CPESN USA, to transform community pharmacies from a traditional, prescription-driven model to a patient-centered care model. The University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy and the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Care Network joined forces and received grant funding to be a part of the effort as Team Pennsylvania. The program began in October 2019 and has been ongoing since. Flip the Pharmacy just awarded Team Pennsylvania its highest honor: Flip the Pharmacy Transformation Award – Team of the Year. Team Pennsylvania was selected out of dozens of practice transformation teams participating across the country. Led by Stephanie McGrath as the PI, Team Pennsylvania is supporting practice transformation efforts in over 50 independently owned pharmacies statewide, including some pharmacies owned and led by PittPharmacy alumni. On receiving the award, Dr. McGrath shared: “This is truly an honor, and a testament to the commitment of numerous partners who came together to support community pharmacy practice transformation in Pennsylvania.”

One of the unique drivers of this team’s success is how many partners and advocates of community pharmacy in Pennsylvania were brought together to support the initiative. This team partners with over six payers, five schools of pharmacy, three eCare plan technology vendors, one wholesaler, the Pennsylvania Department of Health, and the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association to see the Flip the Pharmacy effort through. The passion and drive of every member of the team, from the leadership to the coaches to the groundbreaking pharmacy teams, is what has made Pennsylvania’s success possible over year one of the program.

Pitt team members include: Stephanie McGrath, Sophia Herbert (Fellow), Kelsey Hake (Fellow), Kim Coley, Joni Carroll and Melissa McGivney.

Comments are closed.